I’ll be back…

It’s been a little quiet at the Boog. That’s because the Boog been busy. Haven’t read many books in the past month and certainly haven’t reviewed anything. That’s looking to change now that baseball playoffs have ended and these final nice days roll into the cold Minnesota winter.

Quick update on what I’m currently reading and planning to review:

Certain Jeopardy by Cpt. Jeff Strueker is next on the block to be reviewed.

Somehow the people behind Kipling’s Cat found me and sent me a review copy, which I plan to read and review in the near future. Hopefully before the book is released, so I can say I’m special.

I’m about 1/3 of the way through The Ascent of Money: A Financial History of the World, some pleasure reading – not for review – that I’m trying to read on the side. I don’t get to do too much of this, hence being only 1/3 of the way through having started the book 2 months ago.

I found this really cool book in a pile of books at work:  Crazy ’08: How a Cast of Cranks, Rogues, Boneheads, and Magnates Created the Greatest Year in Baseball History. Currently reading this one on my bus rides back and forth from work. It’s filled with colorful trivia and tells a fascinating tale of what baseball was like in the early 1900’s (the game itself wasn’t much different than today).

Aside from that, I also have a book fo short stories by JG Ballard that I want to read, plus a book about Bacardi and the rise of the rum company in Cuba, and countless issues of Rolling Stone that have been piling up.

Then there’s The Cigar Maker, my new book, which is currently under consideration with a publisher. If they pass I’ll likely self-publish, since I’ve been working on the darned thing for over 6 years.

Once I get through all this stuff, I’ll get to your books, and maybe even start accepting a few submissions even though I get plenty of books sent to me under the radar that I decide to quietly review.

And don’t forget – Christmas is coming up and my first book Elvis and the Blue Moon Conspiracy makes a great gift for the Elvis fan/space-buff/conspiracy nut/humorist in your life!!

Leave a Reply

