The Cigar Maker Wins Bronze Medal

The 2011 Independent Publisher Book Award winners were announced today and Seventh Avenue Productions is proud that The Cigar Maker by Mark Carlos McGinty won the Bronze Medal in the historical fiction category.

The Cigar Maker is the story of a Cuban cigar maker who battles labor strife and vigilante violence in 1900’s Tampa Florida. It is based on true events. This is the fifth award for The Cigar Maker.

The complete list of winners can be found on the Independent Publisher official site.

The “IPPY” Awards, launched in 1996, are designed to bring increased recognition to the deserving but often unsung titles published by independent authors and publishers. Established as the first awards program open exclusively to independents, over 2,500 “IPPYs” have been awarded to authors and publishers around the world. The Awards recognize 12 Outstanding Books of the Year in categories such as Most Inspirational to Youth and Most Likely To Save the Planet, and to gold, silver and gold medal winners in 69 categories, ranging from non-fiction categories like Architecture and Religion, to fiction categories like Multicultural and Horror.

2 Responses to The Cigar Maker Wins Bronze Medal

  1. Art Edwards says:

    Awesome, Mark.

  2. mmcginty says:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: